Dual study as a model for success

The dual study programme is a success story: students are taught knowledge in a practice-oriented manner at the two learning locations of university and company - in different dual study programmes that are designed to meet the needs of the region, the companies, the universities and the students. The high acceptance and low dropout rates underscore their practical relevance and quality.

The dual study programme combines a course of study at a university or university of cooperative education with vocational training and/or regular practical phases in a company. This usually takes place within the framework of initial vocational training as a training-integrated course of study (simultaneous completion of studies and training) or practice-integrated course of study (completion of studies alongside a job). In addition, there are offers in the area of continuing vocational training.
Dual courses of study are characterised by the fact that professional practice and study are interlinked organisationally and curricularly and that there is usually a contractual relationship between the students and the companies (e.g. training, internship or employment contract).
High demand, growing supply, high success rate
Dual courses of study are very popular with students, universities and companies alike. More than 1,500 dual courses of study are now offered nationwide, and over 100,000 women and men have currently opted for a dual course of study, with over 48,000 companies cooperating with universities or academies for this purpose (BIBB 2019). The trend is continuing to rise.
At 7 percent, the dropout rate in the dual study program is far below the average for other bachelor's degree programs (29 percent), and the acceptance rate for graduates is consistently high - all signs of the high quality and practical relevance of dual study programs. The dual study programme is a successful model.
Most dual courses are offered in the field of economics, usually in conjunction with commercial training, followed by courses in computer science and mechanical/process engineering. There is also a large number of offers in electrical engineering and engineering sciences, but also in the fields of social work and economics and social studies. In the past ten years, the number of courses on offer has almost doubled. The business community expressly welcomes this trend, because everyone benefits from the combination of practical training in a company with studies at a university or university of cooperative education:
Advantages for all involved
Students acquire a scientific qualification and sound practical experience. In the case of a training-integrated course of study, they can present two degrees at the end. In addition, they have already demonstrated their organisational skills, discipline and motivation during their studies - important qualities for further professional development.
Universities benefit from intensive cooperation with companies and strengthen the practical relevance of their teaching. They open up to working people, improve the permeability between vocational and higher education and expand their portfolio. The cooperation between business and science also promotes the transfer of knowledge and technology.
With the help of dual courses of study, companies can train the necessary skilled workers in a practice-oriented manner and retain qualified junior staff at an early stage.
Further expansion of dual study programmes
Also in view of the shortage of skilled workers in the STEM field, the business community welcomes the positive development in the area of dual study programmes and supports the universities in further expanding their offerings. Dual studies are particularly important for strengthening regional economic structures. The number of participating companies is constantly growing. Dual courses of study are recognized as an important building block for an innovative and sustainable personnel policy. From the employers' point of view, the number of dual students can and should double by 2030. The prerequisite for this is that the range of subjects continues to expand - beyond economics, engineering and computer science - and that no new regulations and bureaucratic hurdles are erected.

The BDA and the Stifterverband have compiled a

on dual studies.



Arbeitgeberportal

Erfolgsmodell Duales Studium

Das duale Studium ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte: An den zwei Lernorten Hochschule und Betrieb wird den Studierenden praxisorientiert Wissen vermittelt – in unterschiedlichen dualen Studiengängen, die in ihrer Ausgestaltung den Bedarfen der Region, der Unternehmen, der Hochschulen und der Studierenden entsprechen. Die hohen Übernahme- und niedrigen Abbrecherquoten unterstreichen ihre Praxisrelevanz und Qualität.

Das duale Studium verbindet ein Studium an einer Hochschule oder Berufsakademie mit einer Berufsausbildung und/oder regelmäßigen Praxisphasen in einem Unternehmen. Meist geschieht dies im Rahmen der beruflichen Erstausbildung als ausbildungsintegrierender Studiengang (gleichzeitiger Abschluss von Studium und Ausbildung) oder praxisintegrierender Studiengang (Abschluss eines Studiums neben dem Beruf). Hinzu kommen Angebote im Bereich der beruflichen Weiterbildung.
 
Duale Studiengänge zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass Berufspraxis und Studium organisatorisch und curricular miteinander verzahnt sind und zwischen den Studierenden und den Betrieben in der Regel eine vertragliche Bindung besteht (z.B. Ausbildungs-, Praktikanten- oder Arbeitsvertrag).
 
Hohe Nachfrage, wachsendes Angebot, hohe Erfolgsquote
Duale Studiengänge stehen bei Studierenden, Hochschulen und Unternehmen gleichermaßen hoch im Kurs. Bundesweit werden inzwischen mehr als 1.500 duale Studiengänge angeboten, über 100.000 Frauen und Männer haben sich aktuell für einen dualen Studiengang entschieden, hierfür kooperieren über 48.000 Betriebe mit Hochschulen oder Akademien (BIBB 2019). Die Tendenz ist weiter steigend.
 
Die Abbruchquoten im dualen Studium liegen mit 7 Prozent weit unter dem Durchschnitt anderer Bachelorstudiengänge (dort: 29 Prozent), die Übernahmequoten der Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind gleichbleibend hoch – alles Zeichen der hohen Qualität und Praxisrelevanz dualer Studiengänge. Das duale Studium ist ein Erfolgsmodell.
 
Die meisten dualen Studienangebote finden sich im Bereich der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, meist in Verbindung mit einer kaufmännischen Ausbildung, gefolgt von Angeboten in Informatik sowie Maschinenbau/Verfahrenstechnik. Ebenfalls groß ist das Angebot in der Elektrotechnik und den Ingenieurswissenschaften, aber auch in den Bereichen Sozialwesen sowie Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftslehre. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben sich die Angebote nahezu verdoppelt. Die Wirtschaft begrüßt diesen Trend ausdrücklich, denn von der Kombination einer praktischen Ausbildung in einem Betrieb mit einem Studium an einer Hochschule oder einer Berufsakademie profitieren alle:
 
Vorteile für alle Beteiligten
Die Studierenden erwerben eine wissenschaftliche Qualifikation und fundierte Praxiserfahrungen. Bei einem ausbildungsintegrierenden Studiengang können sie am Ende zwei Abschlüsse vorweisen, zudem haben sie im Studium bereits ihre Organisationsfähigkeit, ihre Disziplin und Motivation bewiesen – wichtige Eigenschaften für die weitere berufliche Entwicklung.
 
Hochschulen gewinnen durch die intensive Kooperation mit Unternehmen und stärken die Praxisbezüge in der Lehre. Sie öffnen sich für Berufstätige, verbessern die Durchlässigkeit zwischen beruflicher und hochschulischer Bildung und erweitern ihr Portfolio. Die Zusammenarbeit von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft fördert zudem den Wissens- und Technologietransfer.
 
Die Unternehmen können mit Hilfe von dualen Studiengängen den benötigten Fachkräftenachwuchs praxisnah ausbilden und binden qualifizierten Nachwuchs frühzeitig an sich.
 
Duale Studienangebote weiter ausbauen
Auch mit Blick auf den Fachkräftemangel im MINT-Bereich begrüßt die Wirtschaft die positive Entwicklung im Bereich der dualen Studienangebote und unterstützt die Hochschulen beim weiteren Ausbau ihres Angebots. Gerade für die Stärkung regionaler Wirtschaftsstrukturen ist das duale Studium wichtig. Die Zahl der beteiligten Unternehmen wächst ständig. Duale Studiengänge werden als wichtiger Baustein für eine innovative und nachhaltige Personalpolitik erkannt. Bis 2030 kann und soll sich die Zahl der dual Studierenden aus Sicht der Arbeitgeber verdoppeln. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass sich das Fachspektrum weiterverbreitet – über Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Ingenieurwissenschaften und Informatik hinaus – und keine neuen Regularien und Bürokratiehürden errichtet werden.
 

BDA und Stifterverband haben zum Dualen Studium einen

erarbeitet.



Arbeitgeberportal