Agile working

Agile forms of work promise innovation, efficiency and employer attractiveness. The path to this goal is often arduous and requires a profound cultural change. In addition to entrenched hierarchies, agile projects can also fail due to German working time laws. An adjustment to the modern working world is overdue.

Agile working as a path to innovation
The interplay of digitalization and globalization is reshuffling the cards for the value creation of the future. Product cycles are becoming faster and are creating massive pressure to innovate. New technologies and business models are turning traditional industries upside down. Unexpected competitors are creating unforeseen dependencies. In a disruptive business world, flexibility, adaptability and customer orientation are crucial success factors. The agile enterprise embodies an organizational form that can adapt quickly and nimbly to changing circumstances. In addition to increased flexibility, efficiency and innovative capacity, agile working methods can also increase employer attractiveness for applicants.
Agile organizations and teams are characterized by a high reaction speed to changing conditions and a strong market and customer orientation. Processes are driven by innovation. Hierarchical organizational structures are replaced by networked forms of work with autonomous and self-organized project teams that approach solutions iteratively, constantly question their own approach and work with a high level of transparency and a pronounced culture of error and trust. Agile leadership is often participative and consultative and resembles individual coaching.
Agile work structures can run through the entire company, affect individual projects, or be established in a parallel organization that is affiliated with the company. Not every company, not every part of the company needs agile structures to be successful in digitalization. Agile working is a means to an end and must be linked to clear corporate expectations and goals. The introduction of agile structures can present established companies with huge challenges and requires a profound, lengthy and not infrequently uncomfortable cultural change. The has compiled a for companies on this topic with guidelines and practical examples.
German labour law makes agile working more difficult
The introduction of agile structures can present companies with challenges in terms of employment law. The best example is the German Working Hours Act. In Germany, the working day for employees may not exceed eight hours as a rule. In addition, an uninterrupted rest period of at least eleven hours is prescribed. What may be a sensible regulation for a large number of production employees, for example, presents agile project teams with major problems - the Working Hours Act does not differentiate here. The focus of agile teams is on concrete results, a strong customer orientation and an autonomous, flexible allocation of work and thus also of working hours. Even in particularly intensive and productive project phases, a team must ensure that the maximum working hours of each team member are not exceeded and that rest periods are observed. This has little to do with the modern working world. It is important that the flexible division of working time does not mean working more. The EU Working Time Directive provides a sensible solution here: by introducing a weekly instead of a daily maximum working time, it would also be possible to work more flexibly in Germany and thus take better account of individual needs.

Arbeitgeberportal

Agiles Arbeiten

Agile Arbeitsformen versprechen Innovation, Effizienz und Arbeitgeberattraktivität. Der Weg dorthin ist oft anstrengend und setzt einen tiefgreifenden Kulturwandel voraus. Neben festgefahrenen Hierarchien können agile Projekte auch am deutschen Arbeitszeitgesetz scheitern. Eine Anpassung an die moderne Arbeitswelt ist überfällig.

Agiles Arbeiten als Weg zu Innovation
Beim Zusammenspiel von Digitalisierung und Globalisierung werden die Karten für die Wertschöpfung der Zukunft neu gemischt. Produktzyklen werden schneller und sorgen für massiven Innovationsdruck. Neue Technologien und Geschäftsmodelle stellen traditionelle Branchen auf den Kopf. Unerwartete Wettbewerber schaffen unvorhergesehene Abhängigkeiten. In einer disruptiven Wirtschaftswelt sind Flexibilität, Anpassungsfähigkeit und Kundenorientierung entscheidende Erfolgsfaktoren. Das agile Unternehmen verkörpert dabei eine Organisationsform, die sich wandelnden Umständen schnell und wendig anpassen kann. Neben gesteigerter Flexibilität, Effizienz und Innovationsfähigkeit können agile Arbeitsweisen außerdem die Arbeitgeberattraktivität für Bewerbende erhöhen.
 
Kennzeichnend für agile Organisationen und Teams sind eine hohe Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit auf sich verändernde Rahmenbedingungen sowie eine stark ausgeprägte Markt- und Kundenorientierung. Prozesse sind innovationsgetrieben. Anstelle von hierarchischen Organisationsstrukturen treten vernetzte Arbeitsformen mit eigenverantwortlichen und selbstorganisierten Projektteams, die sich Lösungen iterativ nähern, das eigene Vorgehen immer wieder hinterfragen und mit hoher Transparenz sowie einer ausgeprägten Fehler- und Vertrauenskultur arbeiten. Agile Führung erfolgt dabei häufig partizipativ und beratend und ähnelt einem individuellen Coaching.
 
Agile Arbeitsstrukturen können sich durch das gesamte Unternehmen ziehen, einzelne Projekte betreffen oder auch in einer Parallelorganisation, die dem Unternehmen angegliedert ist, etabliert werden. Nicht jedes Unternehmen, nicht jeder Unternehmensteil braucht agile Strukturen, um in der Digitalisierung erfolgreich zu sein. Agiles Arbeiten ist ein Mittel zum Zweck und muss mit klaren unternehmerischen Erwartungen und Zielen verbunden sein. Die Einführung agiler Strukturen kann etablierte Unternehmen vor riesige Herausforderungen stellen und setzt einen tiefgreifenden, langwierigen und nicht selten unbequemen Kulturwandel voraus. Der hat zu diesem Thema eine für Unternehmen mit Guidelines und Praxisbeispielen zusammengestellt.
 
Deutsches Arbeitsrecht erschwert agiles Arbeiten
Die Einführung agiler Strukturen kann Unternehmen vor arbeitsrechtliche Herausforderungen stellen. Bestes Beispiel ist das deutsche Arbeitszeitgesetz. In Deutschland darf für Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer die werktägliche Arbeitszeit im Regelfall acht Stunden nicht überschreiten. Zudem ist eine mindestens elfstündige ununterbrochene Ruhezeit vorgeschrieben. Was beispielsweise für eine Vielzahl von Produktionsbeschäftigten eine sinnvolle Regelung sein mag, stellt agile Projektteams vor große Probleme – das Arbeitszeitgesetz differenziert hier nicht. Im Fokus agiler Teams stehen konkrete Ergebnisse, eine starke Kundenorientierung und eine eigenverantwortliche, flexible Einteilung der Arbeit und somit auch der Arbeitszeit. Ein Team muss auch in besonders intensiven und produktiven Projektphasen darauf achten, dass die Höchstarbeitszeit jedes Teammitglieds nicht überschritten und die Ruhezeiten eingehalten werden. Mit der modernen Arbeitswelt hat das wenig zu tun. Wichtig ist, dass die flexible Einteilung der Arbeitszeit nicht bedeutet mehr zu arbeiten. Die EU-Arbeitszeitrichtlinie liefert hier eine sinnvolle Lösung: Mit der Einführung einer wöchentlichen anstelle einer täglichen Höchstarbeitszeit könnte auch in Deutschland flexibler gearbeitet und damit individuelle Bedürfnisse besser berücksichtigt werden.

Arbeitgeberportal