Work made in Germany - How employers design good work

 

Working conditions and the quality of work in Germany are significantly better than some political discussions would suggest. "Made in Germany" therefore stands not only for excellent products, but also for excellent quality of work. Our social market economy works. To ensure that it stays that way, German companies are doing a great deal to ensure that work is well designed and that entrepreneurial wishes go hand in hand with the needs of employees. The high job satisfaction ratings of our employees show that this approach is successful.

Steffen Kampeter

Creating good working conditions is not just a slogan or advertising slogan for companies. They go to great lengths to make their working conditions not just good, but very good. Good work is important because it keeps companies competitive, innovative and efficient. It ensures that employees are healthy and motivated. What exactly this design looks like is shown by "Work made in Germany".
The value of work remains the same, but expectations change

Well-designed work is a key factor for health, motivation and self-esteem (Knieps & Pfaff, 2020). What makes it so unique are its characteristics: Work provides social contact and a supportive environment, structures the day and enables personal development. This value of work is the same as it was decades ago - what has changed (and still does) is the expectation of working conditions. Employees want more personal responsibility and flexibility (Raeder & Grote, 2001). At the same time, more "traditional" expectations such as job security, lifelong employment, internal promotion and specialisation persist.

It is also increasingly important for companies to be flexible and ready for change. They face the challenge of reconciling the various expectations of employees with the demands of digitalisation, change processes, sustainability, new forms of leadership, agility and flexibility - and doing so in such a way that working conditions continue to be positive for health, performance and motivation.

High job satisfaction in Germany

The companies take these challenges and the expectations of the employees seriously. Studies by the Federal Statistical Office show that employees view their work situation very positively. 89 % of the employed in Germany are at least satisfied with their job, 33 % even very satisfied (Destatis, 2018). At the same time, job satisfaction hardly differs with age (BMAS, 2018). SMEs in particular are showing a great deal of commitment to further increasing job satisfaction through employee-oriented HR management (BMAS, 2018).

Good to know: Employees give their companies a very good report card for the Corona period (psyGA, 2020). One reason for this is that the companies quickly implemented the very important occupational health and safety and infection control measures during the crisis and made them a matter for management: In 98 % of the companies with specific Corona regulations on occupational health and safety, the management was involved (BAuA, 2020a).
Good work design as the key to job satisfaction

The basis for high satisfaction is good working conditions in companies. According to the Stress Report 2019, resources at work such as social support are at a consistently high level in terms of good cooperation or support from colleagues and the feeling of being part of the community at work. Support from managers still has potential (BAuA, 2020b, see figure).

This is what distinguishes "Work made in Germany"!
  1. Germany scores top marks for job satisfaction - regardless of the age of the employees.
  2. Working conditions are good and getting better: psychological and physical stress factors are steadily decreasing and are below the EU average, support and meaningfulness at work continue to increase.
  3. Work is particularly well paid in Germany. Companies also offer a great deal in the way of health promotion, diversity and the reconciliation of different areas of life, as well as protection in old age, in the event of unemployment, illness, accident or nursing care.
  4. Companies take the health of their employees very seriously. Health promotion and occupational safety are more successful than ever: both the number of accidents at work and the number of early retirements due to health problems have fallen by around half since 1995.
  5. Companies have long recognized employees' desire for more flexibility and a better balance between different areas of life and have found a wide variety of solutions.
  6. Changing values, demographic developments and globalisation are also driving companies' growing commitment to promoting and using diversity in the workplace.
  7. Digitalization is already helping to improve working conditions: Work can be performed more flexibly in terms of time and location, new technologies promote occupational safety and help ensure that as many people as possible can work until full retirement age.
  8. Leadership 4.0 has arrived in companies. As business models change, so do leadership and team structures.
  9. Companies are the largest providers of continuing education, with 85% of all companies engaging in continuing education and investing €33.5 billion for this purpose (source: IW 2017).

Arbeitgeberportal

Arbeit made in Germany – Wie Arbeitgeber gute Arbeit gestalten

 

Die Arbeitsbedingungen und die Arbeitsqualität in Deutschland sind deutlich besser, als es so manche politische Diskussion vermuten lässt. „Made in Germany“ steht daher nicht nur für exzellente Produkte, sondern auch für eine exzellente Arbeitsqualität. Unsere Soziale Marktwirtschaft funktioniert. Damit das so bleibt, realisieren deutsche Unternehmen so einiges, damit Arbeit gut gestaltet ist und unternehmerische Wünsche mit den Bedürfnissen der Beschäftigten zusammengehen. Dass dieser Ansatz gelingt, zeigen die hohen Werte bei der Jobzufriedenheit unserer Beschäftigten.

Steffen Kampeter

Gute Arbeitsverhältnisse zu schaffen, ist nicht nur ein Motto oder Werbeslogan für Unternehmen. Sie setzen viel daran, ihre Arbeitsbedingungen nicht nur gut, sondern sehr gut zu gestalten. Gute Arbeit ist wichtig, denn sie hält die Unternehmen wettbewerbsfähig, innovativ und leistungsstark. Sie sorgt dafür, dass die Beschäftigten gesund und mit Motivation tätig sind. Wie genau diese Gestaltung aussieht, zeigt „Arbeit made in Germany“.
 
Der Wert der Arbeit bleibt gleich, doch die Erwartungen ändern sich

Gut gestaltete Arbeit ist ein Schlüsselfaktor für Gesundheit, Motivation und Selbstwertgefühl (Knieps & Pfaff, 2020). Was sie so einzigartig macht, sind ihre Eigenschaften: Arbeit bietet soziale Kontakte und ein unterstützendes Umfeld, strukturiert den Tag und ermöglicht persönliche Weiterentwicklung. Dieser Wert der Arbeit ist der gleiche wie noch vor Jahrzehnten – geändert hat sich (und tut es noch) die Erwartung an die Arbeitsbedingungen. Beschäftigte wünschen sich mehr Eigenverantwortung und Flexibilität (Raeder & Grote, 2001). Zeitgleich bestehen weiterhin „traditionellere“ Erwartungen wie Arbeitsplatzsicherheit, lebenslange Beschäftigung, interner Aufstieg und Spezialisierung.

Auch für die Unternehmen ist es immer wichtiger, flexibel und veränderungsbereit zu sein. Sie stehen vor der Herausforderung, die verschiedenen Erwartungen der Beschäftigten mit den Anforderungen durch Digitalisierung, Change-Prozesse, Nachhaltigkeit, neue Formen der Führung, Agilität und Flexibilität zu vereinbaren – und zwar so, dass die Arbeitsbedingungen weiterhin positiv für Gesundheit, Leistungsfähigkeit und Motivation sind.

Hohe Arbeitszufriedenheit in Deutschland

Die Betriebe nehmen diese Herausforderungen und die Erwartungen der Beschäftigten ernst. Untersuchungen des Statistischen Bundesamtes zeigen, dass die Beschäftigten ihre Arbeitssituation sehr positiv sehen. 89 % der Erwerbstätigen in Deutschland sind mit ihrer Arbeit mindestens zufrieden, 33 % sogar sehr zufrieden (Destatis, 2018). Dabei unterscheidet sich die Jobzufriedenheit kaum im Alter (BMAS, 2018). Gerade der Mittelstand zeigt viel Engagement durch ein mitarbeiterorientiertes Personalmanagement die Arbeitszufriedenheit weiter zu steigern (BMAS, 2018).

Gut zu wissen: Für die Corona-Zeit stellen die Beschäftigten ihren Betrieben ein sehr gutes Zeugnis aus (psyGA, 2020). Ein Grund dafür ist, dass die Betriebe in der Krise z. B. den so wichtigen Arbeits- und Infektionsschutz schnell umgesetzt und zur Chefsache gemacht haben: Bei 98 % der Betriebe mit spezifischen Corona-Regelungen zum Arbeitsschutz war die Geschäftsleitung involviert (BAuA, 2020a).
 
Gute Arbeitsgestaltung als Schlüssel für Arbeitszufriedenheit

Grundlage für hohe Zufriedenheit sind gute Arbeitsbedingungen in den Betrieben. Laut Stressreport 2019 zeigt sich, dass Ressourcen bei der Arbeit wie die soziale Unterstützung auf gleichbleibend hohem Niveau sind, was die gute Zusammenarbeit bzw. Unterstützung durch KollegInnen und das Gefühl, ein Teil der Gemeinschaft am Arbeitsplatz zu sein anbelangt. Die Unterstützung durch die Führungskraft hat noch Potenzial (BAuA, 2020b, siehe Abbildung).

 

Das zeichnet “Arbeit made in Germany” aus!
  1. Deutschland erzielt Spitzenwerte bei der Arbeitszufriedenheit – unabhängig vom Alter der Beschäftigten.
  2. Die Arbeitsbedingungen sind gut und werden immer besser: Psychische und physische Belastungsfaktoren sinken stetig und liegen unter dem EU-Durchschnitt, Unterstützung und Sinnhaftigkeit bei der Arbeit nehmen weiter zu.
  3. Arbeit wird in Deutschland besonders hoch bezahlt. Die Unternehmen bieten zudem viel zur Förderung der Gesundheit, Diversität und Vereinbarkeit der Lebensbereiche sowie zur Absicherung im Alter, bei Arbeitslosigkeit, Krankheit, Unfall oder Pflege.
  4. Die Gesundheit ihrer Beschäftigten nehmen Betriebe sehr ernst. Gesundheitsförderung und Arbeitsschutz sind erfolgreicher denn je: Sowohl die Zahl der Arbeitsunfälle als auch die Zahl gesundheitlich bedingter Frühverrentungen ist seit 1995 um rund die Hälfte gesunken.
  5. Die Betriebe haben den Wunsch der Beschäftigten nach mehr Flexibilität und besserer Vereinbarkeit der Lebensbereiche längst erkannt und verschiedenste Lösungen gefunden.
  6. Wertewandel, demografische Entwicklung und Globalisierung sind zudem Motoren für das wachsende Engagement der Unternehmen, Vielfalt im Betrieb zu fördern und zu nutzen.
  7. Digitalisierung trägt schon heute zur Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen bei: Arbeit kann zeitlich und örtlich flexibler erbracht werden, neue Techniken fördern die Arbeitssicherheit und helfen dabei, dass möglichst Viele bis zum vollen Rentenalter arbeiten können.
  8. Führung 4.0 ist in den Unternehmen angekommen. So wie sich Geschäftsmodelle ändern, ändern sich auch Führungs- und Teamstrukturen.
  9. Die Unternehmen sind die größten Weiterbildungsanbieter. 85 % aller Unternehmen engagieren sich in der Weiterbildung und investieren hierfür 33,5 Mrd. Euro (Quelle: IW 2017).

Arbeitgeberportal