Maternity protection concerns all employers

The Maternity Protection Act regulates the health protection of working women and their children during pregnancy before and after birth and during breastfeeding. It was fundamentally amended in2018 and concerns health protection at the place of work, training and study.

Maternity leave
An expectant mother may only continue to be employed in the last six weeks before childbirth with her express consent. In the first eight weeks after childbirth, she may not be employed at all. In the case of premature or multiple births, the period after the birth is extended to 12 weeks (§ 6, Subsection 1, MuSchG). Since 30 May 2017, women can claim the same for children who are medically diagnosed with a disability within eight weeks after birth.
During maternity protection periods and pregnancy, the employer is prohibited from dismissing the employee in accordance with § 17 MuSchG.
Financial benefits
During the protection period, a woman receives € 13 maternity benefit per day from her health insurance fund. The employer must make up the difference to the salary she was previously paid. The employer's contribution to the maternity allowance makes up the bulk of the maternity benefit. In its decision of 18.11.2003 (1 BvR 302/96), the Federal Constitutional Court already stated that the employer no longer makes a "subsidy", but rather the essential contribution to continued remuneration during the protection periods, which is only mitigated by the maternity allowance. During other employment bans, the woman continues to receive her remuneration from the employer in the form of maternity pay.
Employers are reimbursed in full for maternity protection pay and the maternity benefit supplement from the so-called U2 levy (Section 1(2) AAG). The levy is financed solely by employers. The financing of family policy benefits should be fundamentally reorganised, as maternity protection is a task for society as a whole. All benefits before and after the birth of a child should be uniformly financed by the federal government from tax revenues, and cash benefits should be combined into a single benefit paid from a single source. The current coexistence of several benefits with different financing and administrative responsibilities must be overcome. A corresponding reorganisation was neglected in the legislative process for the new regulation of maternity protection law.
Risk assessment
In order to ensure comprehensive health protection, the usual risk assessment in occupational health and safety has to be extended since 2018 to include maternity protection aspects that take into account the possible risk to a pregnant or breastfeeding woman and her child. Every employer is obliged to carry out these assessments. It must be carried out for every activity - not for every workplace - that the employer offers. This means that, with regard to maternity protection, it must be carried out without cause and no longer only at the time of notification of a pregnancy. It is irrelevant whether the respective activity is or is to be carried out by a pregnant or breastfeeding woman. It is also irrelevant whether the activity is performed at all by a woman or by a man. In the case of similar working conditions, the assessment of a workplace or an activity is sufficient. The personal scope of application now also includes persons similar to employees, as is also the case in general occupational health and safety law.
Hazards are to be assessed according to their nature, extent and duration. The aim is to ensure that the woman does not have to perform any work during pregnancy that poses an irresponsible risk to the mother and child. The law speaks of an irresponsible hazard if the probability of occurrence of an impairment to health is unacceptable in view of the expected severity of the possible damage to health (Section 9, Paragraph 2, Sentence 2, MuSchG). Thus, the health protectors must continue to weigh up every risk associated with an activity.
Maternity Protection Committee
One of the key tasks of the Maternity Protection Committee (AfMu), which was formed in 2018, is to specify the irresponsible risk in concrete terms. The committee works closely with the occupational health and safety committees of the Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (BAuA). Due to the quantity and diversity of possible hazards, concretisation can only take place step by step. In addition, the committee is to develop practical rules that make it easier for employers to take into account the current state of technology, occupational medicine and hygiene as well as other established scientific findings when implementing maternity protection. The BDA is represented on the Maternity Protection Committee.
Arbeitgeberportal

Mutterschutz betrifft alle Arbeitgeber

Das Mutterschutzgesetz trifft Regelungen für den Gesundheitsschutz der berufstätigen Frau und ihres Kindes während einer Schwangerschaft vor und nach der Geburt und während des Stillens. Es wurde2018 grundlegend geändert und betrifft den Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeits-, Ausbildungs- und Studienplatz.

Mutterschutzzeiten
Eine werdende Mutter darf in den letzten sechs Wochen vor der Entbindung nur mit ihrem ausdrücklichen Einverständnis weiterbeschäftigt werden. In den ersten acht Wochen nach der Entbindung darf sie gar nicht beschäftigt werden. Bei Früh- oder Mehrlingsgeburten verlängert sich der Zeitraum nach der Geburt auf 12 Wochen (§ 6 Abs. 1 MuSchG). Gleiches kann die Frau seit dem 30. Mai 2017 für Kinder beanspruchen, bei denen innerhalb von acht Wochen nach der Geburt eine Behinderung ärztlich festgestellt wird.
 
Während der Mutterschutzzeiten und der Schwangerschaft besteht nach Maßgabe von § 17 MuSchG ein Kündigungsverbot für den Arbeitgeber.
 
Finanzielle Leistungen
Während der Schutzfristen bekommt eine Frau 13 € Mutterschaftsgeld pro Tag von ihrer Krankenkasse. Die Differenz zu dem ihr zuvor gezahlten Arbeitsentgelt muss der Arbeitgeber ausgleichen. Der Arbeitgeberzuschuss zum Mutterschaftsgeld macht den Großteil des Mutterschaftsgelds aus. Bereits im Beschluss vom 18.11.2003 (1 BvR 302/96) hat das Bundesverfassungsgericht festgestellt, dass der Arbeitgeber keinen "Zuschuss" mehr leistet, sondern den wesentlichen Beitrag zur Entgeltfortzahlung während der Schutzfristen, der durch das Mutterschaftsgeld nur gemildert wird. Während anderer Beschäftigungsverbote erhält die Frau ihr Entgelt in Form des Mutterschutzlohns vom Arbeitgeber fortgezahlt.
 
Mutterschutzlohn und den Zuschuss zum Mutterschaftsgeld bekommen Arbeitgeber vollständig aus der sog. U2-Umlage erstattet (§ 1 Abs. 2 AAG). Die Umlage wird allein von Arbeitgebern finanziert. Die Finanzierung familienpolitischer Leistungen sollte grundlegend neu geordnet werden, da es sich bei dem Thema Mutterschutz um eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe handelt. Alle Leistungen vor und nach der Geburt eines Kindes sollten einheitlich vom Bund aus Steuermitteln finanziert und die Geldleistungen zu einer einheitlichen Leistung zusammengefasst werden, die aus einer Hand gezahlt wird. Das heutige Nebeneinander mehrerer Leistungen mit unterschiedlicher Finanzierungs- und Verwaltungsverantwortung muss überwunden werden. Eine entsprechende Neuordnung wurde im Gesetzgebungsverfahren zur Neuregelung des Mutterschutzrechts versäumt.
 
Gefährdungsbeurteilung
Um einen umfassenden Gesundheitsschutz zu gewährleisten, ist die im Arbeitsschutz übliche Gefährdungsbeurteilung seit 2018 um mutterschutzrechtliche Aspekte zu erweitern, die die mögliche Gefährdung einer schwangeren oder stillenden Frau und ihres Kindes berücksichtigen. Zur Durchführung ist jeder Arbeitgeber verpflichtet. Sie sind für jede Tätigkeit – nicht für jeden Arbeitsplatz - durchzuführen, die der Arbeitgeber anbietet. Damit ist sie im Hinblick auf den Mutterschutz anlasslos und nicht mehr erst im Zeitpunkt der Anzeige einer Schwangerschaft durchzuführen. Unerheblich ist, ob die jeweilige Tätigkeit von einer schwangeren oder stillenden Frau ausgeübt wird oder werden soll. Unerheblich ist auch, ob die Tätigkeit überhaupt von einer Frau oder von einem Mann ausgeübt wird. Bei gleichartigen Arbeitsbedingungen ist die Beurteilung eines Arbeitsplatzes oder einer Tätigkeit ausreichend. Der persönliche Geltungsbereich umfasst nunmehr auch arbeitnehmerähnliche Personen, wie es auch im allgemeinen Arbeitsschutzrecht der Fall ist.
 
Gefährdungen sind nach Art, Ausmaß und Dauer zu beurteilen. Es soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Frau während der Schwangerschaft keine Arbeiten verrichten muss, die eine unverantwortbare Gefährdung für Mutter und Kind darstellen. Das Gesetz spricht von einer unverantwortbaren Gefährdung, wenn die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit einer Gesundheitsbeeinträchtigung angesichts der zu erwartenden Schwere des möglichen Gesundheitsschadens nicht hinnehmbar ist (§ 9 Abs. 2 S. 2 MuSchG). Es ist damit weiterhin für jede mit einer Tätigkeit verbundenen Gefährdung eine Abwägung durch die Gesundheitsschützer vorzunehmen.
 
Ausschuss für Mutterschutz
Eine Konkretisierung der unverantwortbaren Gefährdung ist eine der wesentlichen Aufgaben des 2018 gebildeten Ausschusses für Mutterschutz (AfMu). Der Ausschuss arbeitet dabei eng mit den arbeitsschutzrechtlichen Ausschüssen der Bundesanstalt für Arbeitsschutz und Arbeitsmedizin (BAuA) zusammen. Aufgrund der Menge und Unterschiedlichkeit möglicher Gefährdungen kann eine Konkretisierung nur Schritt für Schritt erfolgen. Außerdem soll der Ausschuss praxisgerechte Regeln entwickeln, die es Arbeitgeberinnen und Arbeitgebern erleichtern, bei der Umsetzung des Mutterschutzes den jeweils aktuellen Stand der Technik, Arbeitsmedizin und Hygiene sowie sonstige gesicherte wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zu berücksichtigen. Die BDA ist im Ausschuss für Mutterschutz vertreten.
Arbeitgeberportal