Return to intergenerational and sound public finances

It was right to react to the Corona crisis and take out loans to mitigate the crisis. However, debts are always a burden for future budgets and generations. Therefore, politicians must promptly comply with the debt brake again and ensure balanced budgets without additional burdens for society and the economy. The sound fiscal policy pursued in the aftermath of the financial and debt crisis left Germany capable of acting in the Corona crisis. This must once again be the goal of fiscal policy.

The BDA expressly supports a fiscal policy that is fair to all generations. The sovereign debt crisis made it clear that stable public finances are the indispensable basis for growth, prosperity, intergenerational justice and the ability to act in the next crisis. In this sense, the "Corona debt" must also be paid off. A growth-oriented economic policy, but also consistent spending discipline, will contribute to this. However, shifts at the expense of social security or future generations are the wrong way to go.

Reduce public debt consistently - use fiscal rules
In 2019, the government debt ratio fell below the Maastricht ceiling - 60 per cent of GDP - for the first time since 2002. However, the borrowing of around €218 billion in 2020 will cause the government debt ratio to rise again. The reduction of the government debt ratio below the 60 per cent ceiling must be driven forward in accordance with the repayment plan adopted by the Bundestag. To this end, the policy instruments of the debt brake and the "black zero" have proven their worth and must therefore be used again in the near future.
Growth and employment stabilise public finances
It would be wrong to try to achieve fiscal consolidation by cutting government investment. Such a strategy would be short-sighted and counterproductive, because it would damage growth prospects and thus the state's revenue base. For some time now, Germany has been living at the expense of its substance, as a result of which the public infrastructure, which has hitherto been above average in many areas, is increasingly suffering.
Sustained compliance with the Maastricht ceiling requires an economic policy that is consistently geared to growth. Correctly, the Federal Government already increased its capital expenditure before the Corona crisis and with the supplementary budgets in 2020 it rose to a high level of €71.3bn. Looking ahead, the current financial plan up to 2024 speaks the right language: in the period between 2021 and 2024, the Federal Government's investment spending is to amount to just under €200 billion.
Consistent spending policy - avoid additional burdens
In the draft federal budget for 2021, more than every second euro is earmarked for social spending. Politicians must not continue to hand out election gifts, but need to set the right priorities for spending. In addition, the federal government must not continue to withdraw from the financing of social security. In particular, the financing of non-insurance benefits, as a task for society as a whole, must not be financed through contributions. This increases non-wage labour costs and is thus a burden on the labour factor that inhibits employment.
When the economic recovery sets in, Germany's public finances will not have a revenue problem: in 2019, the tax ratio, at 24%, was at the highest level in reunified Germany, tax revenues rose more strongly than economic output and, despite the crisis situation, the latest tax estimate continues to expect a medium-term increase in tax revenues. Starting from 2020, revenue will increase by more than € 11 billion to around € 883.2 billion by 2024. In addition, the federal government has an unused reserve of €48 billion. It would therefore be wrong to jeopardise the upswing by raising taxes or levies.
Targeted reduction of subsidies
The call for subsidy reductions is a perennial one. They are not only expenditure items in the budget, they usually also have harmful consequences: Subsidies distort prices and thus competition; encourage misallocation of resources; can reduce incentives to make necessary adjustments and thus delay necessary structural change. However, not every subsidy is detrimental to competition and growth, as the start-up promotion of new growth-promoting or basic technologies shows. Therefore, there is no need for a blanket reduction in subsidies, but rather a targeted reduction.
Arbeitgeberportal

Rückkehr zu generationengerechten und soliden Staatsfinanzen

Es war richtig auf die Corona-Krise zu reagieren und Kredite zur Abmilderung der Krise aufzunehmen. Allerdings sind Schulden immer eine Last für kommende Haushalte und Generationen. Daher muss die Politik zeitnah die Schuldenbremse wieder einhalten und für ausgeglichene Haushalte ohne Mehrbelastungen für Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft sorgen. Die solide Finanzpolitik im Nachgang an die Finanz- und Schuldenkrise hat Deutschland handlungsfähig in der Corona-Krise gelassen. Das muss auch jetzt wieder das Ziel der Finanzpolitik sein.

Die BDA unterstützt ausdrücklich eine generationengerechte Finanzpolitik. Die Staatsschuldenkrise verdeutlichte, dass stabile Staatsfinanzen die unverzichtbare Grundlage für Wachstum, Wohlstand, Generationengerechtigkeit und Handlungsfähigkeit für die nächste Krise sind. In diesem Sinne müssen auch die „Corona-Schulden“ getilgt werden. Dazu trägt eine wachstumsorientierte Wirtschaftspolitik, aber auch eine konsequente Ausgabendisziplin bei. Verschiebungen zulasten der Sozialversicherung oder künftiger Generationen sind jedoch der falsche Weg.

Staatsschulden konsequent verringern – Fiskalregeln nutzen
2019 konnte erstmals seit 2002 wieder die Maastrichter Obergrenze der Staatsschuldenquote – 60 Prozent des BIP – unterschritten werden. Durch die im Jahr 2020 aufgenommenen Kredite von rd. 218 Mrd. € wird die Staatsschuldenquote jedoch wieder ansteigen. Die Rückführung der Staatsschuldenquote unter die 60 Prozent Obergrenze muss, entsprechend des vom Bundestag verabschiedeten Tilgungsplans, vorangetrieben werden. Dazu haben sich die Politikinstrumente der Schuldenbremse und „Schwarzen Null“ bewährt und müssen deshalb zeitnah wieder genutzt werden.
 
Wachstum und Beschäftigung stabilisieren Staatsfinanzen
Falsch wäre es, die Konsolidierung der Staatsfinanzen durch eine Kürzung staatlicher Investitionen erreichen zu wollen. Eine solche Strategie wäre kurzsichtig und kontraproduktiv, weil sie den Wachstumsaussichten und damit der staatlichen Einnahmebasis schaden würde. Deutschland lebte seit längerem auf Kosten der Substanz, wodurch die bislang in weiten Teilen überdurchschnittlich gute öffentliche Infrastruktur zunehmend leidet.
 
Die dauerhafte Einhaltung der Maastrichter-Obergrenze erfordert eine konsequent auf Wachstum ausgerichtete Wirtschaftspolitik. Richtigerweise erhöhte die Bundesregierung bereits vor der Corona-Krise ihre Investitionsausgaben und mit den Nachtragshaushalten im Jahr 2020 stiegen sie auf ein hohes Niveau von 71,3 Mrd. €. Perspektivisch spricht der aktuelle Finanzplan bis 2024 die richtige Sprache: Im Zeitraum zwischen 2021 und 2024 sollen die Investitionsausgaben des Bundes knapp 200 Mrd. € betragen.
 
Konsequente Ausgabenpolitik – Mehrbelastungen vermeiden
Im Bundeshaushaltsentwurf 2021 ist mehr als jeder zweite Euro für Sozialausgaben eingeplant. Die Politik darf nicht weiter Wahlgeschenke verteilen, sondern braucht eine richtige Schwerpunktsetzung bei den Ausgaben. Zudem darf sich der Bund nicht immer weiter aus der Finanzierung der Sozialversicherungen zurückziehen. Insbesondere die Finanzierung von versicherungsfremden Leistungen darf als gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe nicht über Beitragsmittel erfolgen. Dies erhöht die Lohnzusatzkosten und ist damit eine beschäftigungshemmende Belastung des Faktors Arbeit.
 
Bei Einsetzen der wirtschaftlichen Erholung werden die deutschen Staatsfinanzen kein Einnahmenproblem haben: 2019 war die Steuerquote, mit 24%, im wiedervereinigten Deutschland auf dem höchsten Niveau, die Steuereinnahmen stiegen stärker als die Wirtschaftsleistung und trotz der Krisensituation wird in der jüngsten Steuerschätzung weiterhin ein mittelfristiger Anstieg des Steueraufkommens erwartet. Ausgehend vom Jahr 2020 erhöht sich das Aufkommen bis 2024 um mehr als 11 Mrd. € auf rd. 883,2 Mrd. €. Zudem verfügt der Bund über eine ungenutzte Rücklage von 48 Mrd. €. Daher wäre es verfehlt den Aufschwung durch Steuer- oder Abgabenerhöhungen zu gefährden.
 
Subventionen gezielt abbauen
Die Forderung nach Subventionsabbau ist ein Dauerbrenner. Sie sind nicht nur Ausgabenposten im Haushalt, sie haben in der Regel auch schädliche Folgen: Subventionen verzerren die Preise und damit den Wettbewerb; begünstigen Fehlallokationen von Ressourcen, können Anreize zu erforderlichen Anpassungen senken und damit notwendigen Strukturwandel verzögern. Allerdings ist nicht jede Subvention dem Wettbewerb und Wachstum abträglich, wie die Anschubförderung von neuen wachstumsfördernden oder grundlegenden Technologien zeigt. Deshalb benötigt es keinen pauschalen, sondern gezielten Subventionsabbau.
Arbeitgeberportal