Achieving further expansion with improved framework conditions

Germany is one of the EU countries with a long and successful tradition of occupational pension provision. As early as the century before last, companies introduced this employer benefit for their employees and have continued to develop it successfully to this day. Together with the statutory pension insurance and private pension provision, occupational pension provision has thus long been one of the pillars of German old-age provision.

The strengthening of funded old-age provision remains necessary. It is precisely in the current capital market environment that the particular strengths of occupational pension provision come to the fore: its very efficient financing options, the high degree of security, its low-cost structures and the risk equalisation possible due to its collective organisation. In addition to its socio-political advantages, occupational pension provision serves a personnel policy purpose in the competition for qualified employees. It helps to attract and retain employees - an advantage that will become even more important in view of the increasing shortage of skilled workers. The company pension scheme can also be used in such a way that the transition from the employment phase to the retirement phase can be flexibly structured.
No further burdens for the company pension scheme
In order to preserve these advantages, occupational pensions must not be further burdened with bureaucracy and additional costs at European and national level. However, additional burdens must also be avoided at national level. This has not always been the case in recent years. For example, occupational pension schemes have undergone numerous legislative changes in recent years that have increased their complexity, raised costs and tied up additional resources for companies. Examples include the new regulations on pension equalisation law, the balance sheet law reform, changes in financial market supervision and additional tax burdens. In contrast, there was not a single noteworthy project to simplify or reduce the bureaucratic burden on occupational pension provision.
Improving the legal framework
The adoption of the Act to Strengthen Occupational Pensions (Betriebsrentenstärkungsgesetz) represents a major opportunity for the spread of occupational pension provision. The introduction of a pure defined-contribution scheme can help to win over those employers to occupational pension provision who have so far stayed away from it in view of the liability risks, some of which are very long-term and difficult to manage. In addition, the pure defined contribution scheme - which has long been possible and customary in many countries - offers the opportunity of a more profitable capital investment. The increase in the tax incentive from 4% to 8% of the contribution assessment ceiling for pension insurance (West), which was adopted with the Company Pensions Strengthening Act, will help to simplify occupational pension provision and, above all, takes account of the increased financing costs resulting from the low-interest phase.
It is disappointing that employers, of all people, who are prepared to take full responsibility for the occupational pensions they have promised, are not to benefit at all from the legal changes. For example, employers who have committed to direct commitments or to occupational pensions via a support fund will be denied the bAV subsidy. In addition, the legislator continues to deny them full tax recognition of their occupational pension commitments - which is probably also required under constitutional law. It is unrealistic for tax law to continue to assume that companies could earn 6% interest despite the current interest rate situation. It is disappointing that employers, of all people, who are prepared to take full responsibility for the occupational pensions they have promised, are not to benefit at all from the legal changes. For example, employers who have committed to direct commitments or to occupational pensions via a support fund will be denied the bAV subsidy. In addition, the legislator continues to deny them full tax recognition of their occupational pension commitments - which is probably also required under constitutional law. It is unrealistic for tax law to continue to assume that companies could earn 6% interest despite the current interest rate situation.
Company pension schemes are largely financed by employers:

Of the total expenditure on occupational pensions of €38.5 billion, employers bore by far the largest share, at around 76.3% (BMAS, 2019s).


Arbeitgeberportal

Mit verbesserten Rahmenbedingungen einen weiteren Ausbau erreichen

Deutschland zählt zu den EU-Staaten mit einer langen und erfolgreichen Tradition in der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge. Bereits im vorletzten Jahrhundert haben Unternehmen diese Arbeitgeberleistung für ihre Beschäftigten eingeführt und bis heute erfolgreich fortentwickelt. Gemeinsam mit der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung und der privaten Altersvorsorge gehört die betriebliche Altersvorsorge somit seit langem zu den Trägern der deutschen Alterssicherung.

Die Stärkung der kapitalgedeckten Altersvorsorge bleibt weiter notwendig. Gerade im aktuellen Kapitalmarktumfeld kommen die besonderen Stärken der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge zum Tragen: ihre sehr effizienten Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten, das hohe Maß an Sicherheit, ihre kostengünstigen Strukturen und den aufgrund ihrer kollektiven Organisation möglichen Risikoausgleich. Neben ihren sozialpolitischen Vorteilen leistet die betriebliche Altersvorsorge einen personalpolitischen Zweck im Wettbewerb um qualifizierte Mitarbeiter. Sie hilft, Beschäftigte zu gewinnen und an das Unternehmen zu binden – ein Vorteil, der angesichts des zunehmenden Fachkräftemangels sogar noch an Bedeutung gewinnen wird. Die betriebliche Altersvorsorge kann zudem so eingesetzt werden, dass der Übergang von der Erwerbs- in die Ruhestandsphase flexibel gestaltet werden kann.
 
Keine weiteren Belastungen für die betriebliche Altersvorsorge
Um diese Vorteile zu wahren, darf die betriebliche Altersvorsorge auf europäischer und nationaler Ebene nicht weiter mit Bürokratie und Mehrkosten belastet werden. Zusätzliche Belastungen müssen aber genauso auf nationaler Ebene unterbleiben. In den vergangenen Jahren war dies nicht immer der Fall. So hat die betriebliche Altersvorsorge in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche gesetzliche Änderungen erfahren, die ihre Komplexität gesteigert, Kosten erhöht und zusätzliche Ressourcen der Unternehmen gebunden haben. Beispielhaft genannt seien hier die Neuregelungen zum Versorgungsausgleichsrecht, die Bilanzrechtsreform, Änderungen der Finanzmarktaufsicht sowie zusätzliche steuerliche Belastungen. Demgegenüber war kein einziges nennenswertes Projekt zur Vereinfachung oder bürokratischen Entlastung der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge zu verzeichnen.
 
Gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen verbessern
Mit der Verabschiedung des Betriebsrentenstärkungsgesetzes ergibt sich eine große Chance zur Verbreitung der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge. Die Einführung der reinen Beitragszusage kann dazu beitragen, auch diejenigen Arbeitgeber für die betriebliche Altersvorsorge zu gewinnen, die ihr bislang mit Blick auf die teilweise sehr langfristigen und schwer überschaubaren Haftungsrisiken fern gestanden haben. Zudem bietet die – in vielen Ländern längst mögliche und übliche – reine Beitragszusage die Chance einer renditeträchtigeren Kapitalanlage. Die mit dem Betriebsrentenstärkungsgesetz beschlossene Erhöhung des steuerlichen Förderrahmens von 4 auf 8 % der Beitragsbemessungsgrenze der Rentenversicherung (West) wird zur Vereinfachung der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge beitragen und berücksichtigt vor allem den durch die Niedrigzinsphase gestiegenen Finanzierungsaufwand.
 
Enttäuschend ist, dass ausgerechnet die Arbeitgeber, die für die von ihnen zugesagten Betriebsrenten in vollem Umfang einzustehen bereit sind, überhaupt keinen Vorteil aus den gesetzlichen Änderungen haben sollen. So wird Arbeitgebern, die Direktzusagen bzw. über eine Unterstützungskasse betriebliche Altersvorsorge zugesagt haben, der bAV-Förderbeitrag verwehrt. Zudem verweigert der Gesetzgeber ihnen weiterhin die – wohl auch verfassungsrechtlich gebotene – volle steuerliche Anerkennung ihrer Betriebsrentenverpflichtungen. Es ist realitätsfremd, wenn das Steuerrecht trotz der aktuellen Zinssituation nach wie vor unterstellt, dass Unternehmen 6 % Zinsen erzielen könnten. Enttäuschend ist, dass ausgerechnet die Arbeitgeber, die für die von ihnen zugesagten Betriebsrenten in vollem Umfang einzustehen bereit sind, überhaupt keinen Vorteil aus den gesetzlichen Änderungen haben sollen. So wird Arbeitgebern, die Direktzusagen bzw. über eine Unterstützungskasse betriebliche Altersvorsorge zugesagt haben, der bAV-Förderbeitrag verwehrt. Zudem verweigert der Gesetzgeber ihnen weiterhin die – wohl auch verfassungsrechtlich gebotene – volle steuerliche Anerkennung ihrer Betriebsrentenverpflichtungen. Es ist realitätsfremd, wenn das Steuerrecht trotz der aktuellen Zinssituation nach wie vor unterstellt, dass Unternehmen 6 % Zinsen erzielen könnten.
 
Betriebliche Altersvorsorge finanzieren weit überwiegend die Arbeitgeber:

Von den Gesamtaufwendungen für die betriebliche Altersvorsorge i.H.v. 38,5 Mrd. € trugen die Arbeitgeber mit rund 76,3 % den mit Abstand größten Teil (BMAS, 2019s).


Arbeitgeberportal