Professional orientation

 

Systematic and practical vocational orientation at schools provides valuable opportunities for a successful future in the world of work. It must also be ensured in pandemic times!

Dr. Rainer Dulger

What do I want to become? Where are my strengths? young people ask themselves at the transition from school to the world of work and careers. It is the task of the school to provide them with a good vocational orientation for their way into the world of work. This includes insights into professional practice in cooperation with companies. Even during the pandemic, vocational orientation must take place at school and - while protecting against infection - practical experience must be made possible.
Vocational orientation is a core task of schools
The educational mission of the school includes the preparation of the pupils for their independent participation in the world of work. Vocational orientation is a process that should begin early and continue to build up until the transition to training, study and work. In the process, the pupils should learn about their own strengths and interests and make well-informed, stereotype-free and active decisions about their further path in the education system and the world of work.
Vocational orientation at grammar school
At the Gymnasium, dual training must be presented to the pupils as a second option in addition to studying in the vocational orientation. Many grammar schools inform and interest their pupils in training, but many still see their task solely in the direction of study. But by no means all students stay at the Gymnasium until they graduate from high school. Even then, the dual study programme offers a - much sought-after - combination of study and training. Almost one third of the trainees have a university entrance qualification in their pocket. The study orientation at the Gymnasium should therefore be supplemented with a vocational orientation that shows the diverse perspectives of vocational education.
Cooperation in the network
For a successful transition from school to work, the networking of schools with local cooperation partners is indispensable. The SCHULEWIRTSCHAFT networks initiate and shape the cooperation between schools and companies on site in almost 400 working groups. The main focus of activities is on vocational orientation, but also on economic education and the promotion of STEM subjects. Tools include company explorations and internships for students and teachers as well as helpful materials such as checklists and handouts for schools, companies and parents. Competitions, student company programmes and business games are also included. The nationwide network is supported at the federal level by the BDA and the Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft Köln (Institute of the German Economy), and at the state level by employers' associations and educational organisations in cooperation with the ministries responsible for schools.
Quality development with the career choice SIEGEL
The Berufswahl-SIEGEL is a certification procedure with which schools demonstrate their exemplary vocational orientation and are awarded for it. There are now around 1,600 SIEGEL schools that demonstrate systematic vocational orientation and cooperate sustainably with companies and the vocational guidance services of the employment agencies. They prepare the career choice of the pupils and accompany the transition to training and work. The criteria catalogue of the procedure is a helpful tool for all schools to evaluate and further develop their own vocational orientation.
Professional orientation in the pandemic
Vocational orientation must continue even during the pandemic. Information about job profiles, available training places and self-exploration tools are available online at the BA(Check-U: Teste deine Stärken - Bundesagentur für Arbeit (arbeitsagentur.de)). It is important that schools are not disconnected from reality when it comes to digitalisation. In the context of cooperation with external parties such as training companies and the careers advisers at the employment agencies, digital access in line with data protection must be ensured in all cases. Young people with support needs require guidance from their school confidant and accompanying professional career guidance, e.g. when applying for a training place. Companies endeavour to provide insights into practical work while ensuring protection against infection.
Cliché-free orientation
Young women still disproportionately choose professions that are considered typically female, and boys tend to be oriented towards conventionally male occupational fields. Female trainees and students too rarely choose STEM professions and therefore lag behind in their career opportunities. A critical examination of role stereotypes at an early stage in school is therefore necessary in order to show young people all their potential and development opportunities.


BDA committee

BDA Committee on Education, Vocational Training

BDA working group on vocational training


Arbeitgeberportal

Berufliche Orientierung

 

Eine systematische und praxisnahe Berufs­orientierung an den Schulen bringt wertvolle Chancen für eine erfolgreiche Zukunft in der Arbeitswelt.

Ingo Kramer

Was will ich werden? Wo liegen meine Stärken? fragen sich junge Menschen am Übergang von der Schule in die Arbeits- und Berufswelt. Es ist Aufgabe der Schule, ihnen eine gute Berufliche Orientierung für den Weg in den Beruf mitzugeben. Dazu gehören Einblicke in die berufliche Praxis in Kooperation mit Betrieben. Auch in der Pandemie muss die Berufliche Orientierung in der Schule stattfinden und - bei Wahrung des Infektionsschutzes – die Praxiserfahrung möglich gemacht werden.
Berufliche Orientierung ist Kernaufgabe von Schule
Zum Bildungs- und Erziehungsauftrag der Schule gehört die Vorbereitung bzw. Hinführung der Schülerinnen und Schüler auf die eigenständige Teilhabe an der Berufs- und Arbeitswelt. Berufliche Orientierung ist ein Prozess, der früh einsetzen soll und sich weiter aufbaut bis zum Übergang in Ausbildung, Studium und Beruf. Dabei sollen die Schülerinnen und Schüler ihre eigenen Stärken und Interessen erfahren und sich gut informiert, klischeefrei und aktiv für ihren weiteren Weg in Bildungssystem und Berufswelt entscheiden.
 
Berufsorientierung am Gymnasium
Am Gymnasium muss die duale Ausbildung eine Option in der Beruflichen Orientierung werden. Viele Gymnasien informieren und interessieren ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler für eine Ausbildung, aber viele sehen ihre Aufgabe nach wie vor alleine Richtung Studium. Aber längst nicht alle Schülerinnen und Schüler bleiben bis zum Abitur am Gymnasium. Selbst dann bietet das duale Studium eine - stark nachgefragte – Verbindung von Studium und Ausbildung. Fast ein Drittel der Auszubildenden hat die Hochschulreife in der Tasche. Die Studienorientierung am Gymnasium ist daher mit einer Berufsorientierung zu ergänzen, die die vielfältigen Perspektiven der beruflichen Bildung aufzeigt.
 
Kooperation im Netzwerk
Für einen gelingenden Übergang Schule – Beruf ist die Vernetzung der Schule mit Kooperationspartnern vor Ort unabdingbar. Die SCHULEWIRTSCHAFT-Netzwerke initiieren und gestalten die Zusammenarbeit von Schulen und Unternehmen vor Ort in fast 400 Arbeitskreisen. Schwerpunkte der Aktivitäten sind allen voran die Berufliche Orientierung, aber auch ökonomische Bildung und MINT-Förderung. Instrumente sind Betriebserkundungen und Betriebspraktika für Schülerinnen und Schüler wie für Lehrkräfte sowie hilfreiche Materialien wie Checklisten und Handreichungen für Schulen, Unternehmen und Eltern. Wettbewerbe, Schülerfirmenprogramme und Planspiele kommen hinzu. Das bundesweite Netzwerk wird auf der Bundesebene von BDA und Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft getragen, auf Landesebene sind es Verbände und Bildungswerke der Arbeitgeber in Kooperation mit Ministerien.
 
Qualitätsentwicklung mit dem Berufswahl-SIEGEL
Das Berufswahl-SIEGEL ist ein Zertifizierungsverfahren, mit dem Schulen ihre vorbildliche Berufliche Orientierung nachweisen und dafür ausgezeichnet werden. Inzwischen sind es rund 1.600 SIEGEL-Schulen, die eine systematische Berufliche Orientierung vorweisen und nachhaltig mit Unternehmen und der Berufsberatung der Arbeitsagenturen zusammenarbeiten. Sie bereiten die Berufswahl der Schülerinnen und Schüler vor und begleiten den Übergang in Ausbildung und Beruf. Der Kriterienkatalog des Verfahrens ist für alle Schulen ein hilfreiches Tool, um die eigene Berufliche Orientierung zu evaluieren und weiter zu entwickeln.
 
Berufliche Orientierung in der Pandemie
Auch in der Pandemie muss die Berufliche Orientierung weitergehen. Informationen über Berufsbilder, freie Ausbildungsplätze und Selbsterkundungstools stehen online bei der BA zur Verfügung. Allerdings brauchen junge Menschen mit Unterstützungsbedarf die Anleitung durch die schulische Vertrauensperson und begleitend durch die professionelle Berufsberatung z.B. bei der Bewerbung um einen Ausbildungsplatz. Betriebe bemühen sich, unter Wahrung des Infektionsschutzes Praxisphasen zu ermöglichen.
 
Klischeefreie Orientierung
Immer noch wählen junge Frauen primär typisch weiblich geltende Berufe und orientieren sich Jungen eher auf herkömmlich männliche Berufsfelder. Weibliche Auszubildende und Studierende setzen zu selten auf die MINT-Berufe und bleiben daher in ihren Karrierechancen zurück. Eine frühzeitige kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Rollen-Stereotypen in der Schule ist daher notwendig, um jungen Menschen alle ihre Potenziale und Entwicklungschancen zu zeigen.


BDA-Gremium

BDA-Ausschuss Bildung, Berufliche Bildung

BDA-Arbeitskreis Berufliche Bildung



PDFs und Links zum Thema



Zahlen und Fakten

Tortendiagramm Schulen mit Berufswahl-SIEGEL:

Allgemeinbildende Schulen Sekundarstufe I : 51 %
Allgemeinbildende Schulen Sekundarbereich II: 31 %
Förderschulen: 13 %
Berufliche Schulen (schulische Bildungsgänge) : 5%

(Quelle: Statistik 2019)

Berufswahl-SIEGEL auf Wachstumspfad:

1622 SIEGEL-Schulen
1475 Engagierte
28 Regionen in 2019

2018: 1581 Schulen
2017: 1540 Schulen
2016: 1562 Schulen
2015: 1495 Schulen



Arbeitgeberportal