Employers' education policy principles

 

A good education is the basis for personal development, for participation in society and for a fulfilling professional life. As a society, we must do everything we can to ensure that our education system is as good as it can be. Because this is where the key to our future lies.

Ingo Kramer, former President of the Employers' Association, Managing Director J. Heinr. Kramer Holding GmbH

Digitalization and demographic change are shaping society and the world of work. In order to master the current and future challenges and thus secure economic success, social prosperity and social cohesion, education is the linchpin. German employers stand for the following education policy principles and orientations:

  • Education is our most important resource: individually, economically and socially. We therefore need an efficient, performance-oriented education system that not only imparts specialist knowledge but also promotes independence, initiative and a willingness to take responsibility. It must effectively support young people in their personal development to become responsible citizens.
  • Good education policy is the most effective and sustainable social policy. Nothing protects better against unemployment and nothing promotes social participation more sustainably than a completed company or university education.
  • Vocational training and academic education must not be played off against each other. As a business location, we need well-qualified, creative and motivated graduates from both fields. We need a structurally and socially permeable education system that focuses on individual support and offers everyone the opportunity to develop their own personality and individual talents.
  • Digital competences (the use, understanding, design and reflection of digital technologies) and social competences (in particular communication and team skills as well as personal responsibility) are moving to centre stage with the increasing mechanisation and networking of our working world and our everyday lives - irrespective of sector, activity or hierarchical level. All areas of education must strengthen and further develop digital skills.
  • Each type of school must provide support in such a way that as many young people as possible graduate and are ready for vocational training or university studies. A comprehensive general education at school also includes economic education and STEM education, including digital information and media skills. The number of all-day schools must be significantly increased. The backlog of renovations and equipment at many schools must be urgently eliminated by local and state governments.
  • Dual education is a cornerstone of the strength of the German economy. It offers young people, both with and without A-levels, a wide range of development opportunities and career options, right up to company management. High achievers in particular must be given access to additional qualifications, dual courses of study and advanced training. Young people with weaker performance must be better integrated into the training market through entry-level qualifications or assisted training.
  • Vocational schools are an indispensable pillar of dual training and important partners for companies. Their staffing, material and financial resources must be given high priority. Vocational schools must participate in federal and state investment and funding programmes in the same way as schools providing general education.
  • Lifelong learning must become even more the norm for everyone. The prerequisite for this is flexible, practical further training opportunities. They also serve to update technical and digital knowledge and skills. Within the framework of company personnel policy, further training promotes "digital literacy" among all employees. In the future, universities must open up even more to the target group of working people and those with vocational qualifications - also in the area of continuing education. Flexible, part-time study formats must be significantly expanded.
Without questioning the responsibility of the federal states in education, we as employers are firmly convinced: To meet the future challenges posed by demographic developments and the ever more rapidly changing world of work and life, Germany needs an education strategy that is coordinated between the federal, state and local governments - from daycare centers, schools and vocational training to higher education and continuing education.
With their fundamental position on education policy , German employers outline their vision of a modern and sustainable education system.


Arbeitgeberportal

Die bildungspolitischen Grundsätze der Arbeitgeber

 

Eine gute Bildung ist die Grundlage für die persönliche Entfaltung, für die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe und für ein erfüllendes Berufsleben. Als Gesellschaft müssen wir alles daransetzen, dass unser Bildungssystem so gut ist wie nur möglich. Denn hier liegt der Schlüssel für unsere Zukunft.

Ingo Kramer, ehemaliger Arbeitgeberpräsident, Geschäftsführer J. Heinr. Kramer Holding GmbH

Digitalisierung und demografischer Wandel prägen Gesellschaft und Arbeitswelt. Um die aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen zu meistern und damit wirtschaftlichen Erfolg, gesellschaftlichen Wohlstand und sozialen Zusammenhalt zu sichern, ist Bildung der Dreh- und Angelpunkt. Die deutschen Arbeitgeber stehen für folgende bildungspolitische Grundsätze und Orientierungen:

  • Bildung ist unsere wichtigste Ressource: individuell, ökonomisch und sozial. Wir brauchen darum ein effizientes, leistungsorientiertes Bildungssystem, das nicht nur Fachwissen vermittelt, sondern auch Selbstständigkeit, Eigeninitiative und Verantwortungsbereitschaft fördert. Es muss junge Menschen in ihrer Persönlichkeitsentwicklung hin zu mündigen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern wirkungsvoll unterstützen.
  • Gute Bildungspolitik ist die wirksamste und nachhaltigste Sozialpolitik. Nichts schützt besser vor Arbeitslosigkeit und nichts fördert nachhaltiger gesellschaftliche Teilhabe als eine abgeschlossene betriebliche oder hochschulische Ausbildung.
  • Berufliche Bildung und akademische Bildung dürfen nicht gegeneinander ausgespielt werden. Als Wirtschaftsstandort brauchen wir gut qualifizierte, kreative und motivierte Absolventinnen und Absolventen aus beiden Bereichen. Wir brauchen ein strukturell und sozial durchlässiges Bildungssystem, das die individuelle Förderung in den Mittelpunkt stellt und möglichst jeder und jedem die Chance zur Entfaltung der eigenen Persönlichkeit und individuellen Talente bietet.
  • Digitale Kompetenzen (das Anwenden, Verstehen, Gestalten und Reflektieren digitaler Technologien) und soziale Kompetenzen (insbesondere Kommunikations- und Teamfähigkeit sowie Eigenverantwortung) rücken mit der zunehmenden Technisierung und Vernetzung unserer Arbeitswelt und unseres Alltags in den Mittelpunkt – unabhängig von Branche, Tätigkeit oder Hierarchiestufe. Alle Bildungsbereiche müssen digitale Kompetenzen stärken und weiterentwickeln.
  • Jede Schulform muss so fördern, dass möglichst alle Jugendlichen zu einem Abschluss und zur Ausbildungs- oder Studienreife gelangen. Zu einer umfassenden schulischen Allgemeinbildung gehören auch ökonomische Bildung und MINT-Bildung einschließlich digitaler Informations- und Medienkompetenz. Das Angebot an Ganztagsschulen muss deutlich ausgebaut werden. Der Sanierungs- und Ausstattungsrückstand an vielen Schulen muss von Kommunen und Ländern dringend beseitigt werden.
  • Die duale Ausbildung ist ein Grundpfeiler für die Stärke der deutschen Wirtschaft. Sie bietet jungen Menschen mit und ohne Abitur vielfältige Entwicklungschancen und Karrieremöglichkeiten bis hin zur Unternehmensführung. Besonders Leistungsstarken muss der Zugang zu Zusatzqualifikationen, dualen Studiengängen und Aufstiegsfortbildungen vermittelt werden. Leistungsschwächere Jugendliche müssen durch Einstiegsqualifikationen oder assistierte Ausbildung noch besser in den Ausbildungsmarkt integriert werden.
  • Die Berufsschulen sind eine unverzichtbare Säule der dualen Ausbildung und für die Betriebe wichtige Partner. Ihre personelle, materielle und finanzielle Ausstattung muss hohe Priorität haben. An Investitions- und Förderprogrammen des Bundes und der Länder müssen Berufsschulen in gleicher Weise beteiligt werden wie allgemeinbildende Schulen.
  • Lebenslanges Lernen muss für jede und jeden noch mehr zur Normalität werden. Voraussetzung hierfür sind flexible praxisnahe Weiterbildungsangebote. Sie dienen auch der Aktualisierung technisch-digitaler Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen. Im Rahmen der betrieblichen Personalpolitik fördert Weiterbildung „digital literacy“ bei allen Beschäftigten. Hochschulen müssen sich zukünftig noch stärker für die Zielgruppe der Berufstätigen und berufliche Qualifizierten öffnen – auch im Weiterbildungsbereich. Flexible, berufsbegleitend studierbare Formate sind deutlich auszubauen.
Ohne die Zuständigkeit der Bundesländer in der Bildung infrage zu stellen, sind wir als Arbeitgeber der festen Überzeugung: Für die Herausforderungen, die die demografische Entwicklung und die sich immer schneller verändernde Arbeits- und Lebenswelt zukünftig an uns stellen, braucht Deutschland eine zwischen Bund, Ländern und Kommunen abgestimmte Bildungsstrategie – von der Kita, über Schule und Ausbildung bis zur Hochschule und Weiterbildung.
Mit der bildungspolitischen Grundsatzposition skizzieren die deutschen Arbeitgeber ihr Leitbild eines modernen und zukunftsfähigen Bildungssystems.


Arbeitgeberportal