Improving the quality of early childhood education

Successful education systems rely on the early support of children. Systematic early education is the lever for the further educational biography of children and thus for greater equality of opportunity and education. This requires a qualitative expansion of early childcare with educational standards, qualified staff and a good childcare ratio.

Basis for educational biography and educational equity
International empirical studies show time and again that the quality of the entire education system depends crucially on the quality of early childhood education. Therefore, it is important that children experience education, learn in a targeted manner and receive systematic support even before they start school. Only a qualitative expansion of early childhood education can also increase equality of opportunity and education, which is a particular challenge in Germany. The social partners BDA and DGB therefore welcome a permanent participation of the Federal Government in the quantitative and qualitative Kita expansion.
First stage of the education system
The day-care centre is the first stage of the education system and as such must be further developed in terms of quality. Child-centred, explorative learning does not succeed without action, but needs systematic and targeted incentives. Nationwide quality standards for the content of early education should formulate which competencies are to be imparted to children and be implemented nationwide.
The focus must be on strengthening the basic skills of all children: Effective language development is just as important as the first contact with numbers, relations and natural phenomena, the development of gross and fine motor skills through sports activities, as well as the involvement with music and art to promote creativity. Digital media can also be used in a didactically meaningful way in the kindergarten.
Start with language support
Language is the basis for the further educational biography. More than 20 percent of 3 to 6 year old children first come into contact with German in a comprehensive way at the day care center. According to parents, a need for language support is identified in about one in five children before they start school. Delayed language development was also found in 22 per cent of children who speak mainly German at home. However, children from migrant families and from educationally disadvantaged parents in particular attend a day-care centre too seldom or too late. They must be won over more than before to participate in early education and, conversely, the offers for them must be expanded in a targeted manner. Successful language support must also involve parents and families in order to be sustainable. The observation and diagnostics of the children and the subsequent support measures are to be documented in a portfolio, which is to be continued in the primary school.
Early childhood educators
The development of child day care into an educational institution requires the appropriate training of staff. This includes a scientifically based, practice-oriented university degree for the management functions and a high-quality, compatible vocational training for the specialist staff. Language and STEM promotion must be part of the qualification. A good childcare ratio is indispensable for quality development and for the individual support of each child.
In order to attract sufficient skilled workers, school fees, where they are still charged, should be abolished once and for all, and practice-integrated training should be significantly expanded; it is particularly attractive for lateral entry into the profession. Equally important are good quality continuing education and training opportunities as well as opportunities for professionals to exchange experiences.


Arbeitgeberportal

Frühkindliche Bildung qualitativ ausbauen

Erfolgreiche Bildungssysteme setzen auf die frühe Förderung der Kinder. Die systematische frühe Bildung ist der Hebel für die weitere Bildungsbiografie der Kinder und damit für mehr Chancen- und Bildungsgerechtigkeit. Dafür ist ein qualitativer Ausbau der frühen Kindertagesbetreuung mit Bildungsstandards, qualifiziertem Personal und gutem Betreuungsschlüssel notwendig.

Basis für Bildungsbiografie und Bildungsgerechtigkeit
Internationale empirische Studien zeigen immer wieder, dass die Qualität des gesamten Bildungssystems entscheidend von der Qualität der frühkindlichen Bildung abhängt. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass Kinder bereits vor Schulbeginn Bildung erfahren, gezielt lernen und systematische Förderung erfahren. Erst ein qualitativer Ausbau der frühkindlichen Bildung kann zudem die Chancen- und Bildungsgerechtigkeit erhöhen, die in Deutschland eine besondere Herausforderung darstellt. Die Sozialpartner BDA und DGB begrüßen daher eine dauerhafte Beteiligung des Bundes am quantitativen und qualitativen Kita-Ausbau.
 
Erste Stufe des Bildungssystems
Die Kindertageseinrichtung ist die erste Stufe des Bildungssystems und muss als solche qualitativ weiter ausgebaut werden . Das kindgerechte, entdeckende Lernen gelingt nicht ohne Zutun, sondern braucht systematische und gezielte Anreize. Bundesweite inhaltliche Qualitätsstandards für die frühe Bildung sollten formulieren, welche Kompetenzen den Kindern zu vermitteln sind, und flächendeckend umgesetzt werden.
 
Im Mittelpunkt muss die Stärkung der Grundkompetenzen aller Kinder stehen: Wirksame Sprachförderung ist dabei ebenso wichtig wie der erste Umgang mit Zahlen, Relationen und Naturphänomenen, die Entwicklung der Grob- und Feinmotorik durch sportliche Aktivitäten sowie die Beschäftigung mit Musik und Kunst zur Förderung der Kreativität. Auch digitale Medien können bereits in der Kita didaktisch sinnvoll eingesetzt werden.
 
Start mit Sprachförderung
Sprache ist die Basis für die weitere Bildungsbiografie. Mehr als 20 Prozent der 3- bis unter 6-jährigen Kinder kommen erst in der Kindertageseinrichtung umfassend mit Deutsch in Berührung. Nach Elternangaben wird bei etwa jedem fünften Kind vor Schulbeginn ein Sprachförderbedarf festgestellt. Eine verzögerte Sprachentwicklung wurde auch bei 22 Prozent der Kinder erhoben, die zu Hause überwiegend Deutsch sprechen. Insbesondere Kinder aus Migrantenfamilien und von bildungsfernen Eltern besuchen allerdings zu selten oder zu spät eine Kindertageseinrichtung. Sie müssen mehr als bisher für die Teilnahme an früher Bildung gewonnen und umgekehrt die Angebote für sie gezielt ausgeweitet werden. Eine gelingende Sprachförderung muss zudem die Eltern und Familien einbeziehen, um nachhaltig zu sein. Die Beobachtung und Diagnostik der Kinder und die darauf folgenden Fördermaßnahmen sind in einem Portfolio zu dokumentieren, das in der Grundschule fortgeführt wird.
 
Frühpädagogische Fachkräfte
Der Ausbau der Kindertagesbetreuung zur Bildungseinrichtung erfordert eine entsprechende Ausbildung des Personals. Dazu gehören ein wissenschaftlich fundiertes praxisnahes Hochschulstudium für die Leitungsfunktionen und eine hochwertige anschlussfähige fachschulische Ausbildung für die Fachkräfte. Sprach- und MINT-Förderung müssen Bestandteil der Qualifizierung sein. Ein guter Betreuungsschlüssel ist unabdingbar für die Qualitätsentwicklung wie für die individuelle Förderung jedes Kindes.
 
Um ausreichend Fachkräfte zu gewinnen, sollte Schulgeld, wo es noch erhoben wird, endgültig abgeschafft und die praxisintegrierende Ausbildung deutlich ausgebaut werden; sie ist insbesondere beim Quereinstieg in den Beruf attraktiv. Ebenso wichtig sind qualitativ gute Fort- und Weiterbildungsangebote sowie Möglichkeiten zum professionellen Erfahrungsaustausch für die Fachkräfte.


Arbeitgeberportal