Shaping the structural change of the German economy wisely and sustainably

Digitalisation and the course set against global warming are causing accelerated sectoral, qualification and regional structural change, which is accompanied by considerable changes for the economy, the labour market and the (further) education system. The economy and the world of work will change significantly in the coming years. Added to this is the demographic change with the growing need to secure skilled labour. This requires a higher degree of flexibility and willingness to change from companies as well as from employees.

The German economy and labour market have already successfully undergone such structural changes several times in the past. However, none of this is a foregone conclusion. Only with competitive companies can we help shape change, maintain growth and thus maintain prosperity and the high level of employment achieved even in the current structural change and, if possible, expand it further.

To this end, all players on the labour market must live up to their responsibilities: The main responsibility for shaping structural change lies with the companies and their employees themselves. Employers bear responsibility for their employees and ensure that the skilled labour base is maintained through their commitment to training and further education. As company partners, they work on practicable solutions at company level; as collective bargaining partners, they create the appropriate framework for structural change in the respective sectors through collective agreements. For employees, individual security on the labour market will primarily be based on flexibility, willingness to change and to undergo further training, and thus on constantly updated employability.

The task of the state is to support companies and employees in shaping structural change. The best way to do this is by creating the right framework conditions for a sustainable and competitive economy. Where necessary, the state - and in certain cases also unemployment insurance, which is borne by employers and employees - should continue to actively support targeted further training through labour market policy instruments.

Arbeitgeberportal

Den Strukturwandel der deutschen Wirtschaft klug und nachhaltig gestalten

Die Digitalisierung und die Weichenstellungen gegen die Erderwärmung verursachen einen beschleunigten sektoralen, qualifikatorischen und regionalen Strukturwandel, der mit erheblichen Veränderungen für Wirtschaft, Arbeitsmarkt und (Weiter-)Bildungssystem einhergeht. Wirtschaft und Arbeitswelt werden sich in den kommenden Jahren stark verändern. Hinzu kommt der demografische Wandel mit der wachsenden Notwendigkeit zur Fachkräftesicherung. Das erfordert von den Betrieben, wie auch von den Beschäftigten ein höheres Maß an Flexibilität und Veränderungsbereitschaft.  

Die deutsche Wirtschaft und der Arbeitsmarkt haben in der Vergangenheit solche Strukturwandel bereits mehrfach erfolgreich durchlaufen. Das alles ist aber kein Selbstläufer. Nur mit wettbewerbsfähigen Unternehmen können wir den Wandel mitgestalten, Wachstum erhalten und somit Wohlstand und den erreichten hohen Beschäftigungsstand auch im aktuellen Strukturwandel halten und möglichst weiter ausbauen.  

Dazu müssen alle Akteure auf dem Arbeitsmarkt ihrer Verantwortung gerecht werden: Die Hauptverantwortung für die Gestaltung des Strukturwandels liegt bei den Unternehmen und ihren Beschäftigten selbst. Die Arbeitgeber tragen Verantwortung für ihre Beschäftigten und sichern mit ihrem Engagement in der Aus- und Weiterbildung den Erhalt der Fachkräftebasis. Als Betriebspartner arbeiten sie auf betrieblicher Ebene an praktikablen Lösungen, als Tarifpartner schaffen sie über Tarifverträge den passenden Rahmen für den Strukturwandel in den jeweiligen Branchen. Für Beschäftigte wird sich individuelle Sicherheit auf dem Arbeitsmarkt in erster Linie aus Flexibilität, Veränderungs- und Weiterbildungsbereitschaft und damit einer ständig aktualisierten Beschäftigungsfähigkeit speisen.  

Die Aufgabe des Staates ist es, Unternehmen und Beschäftigte bei der Gestaltung des Strukturwandels zu unterstützen. Das geht am besten durch die Schaffung der richtigen Rahmenbedingungen für eine nachhaltige und wettbewerbsfähige Wirtschaft. Dort, wo es notwendig ist, sollte der Staat – und in bestimmten Fällen auch die von den Arbeitgebern und Beschäftigten getragene Arbeitslosenversicherung – durch arbeitsmarktpolitische Instrumente eine gezielte Weiterbildungsförderung weiter aktiv unterstützen.  

Arbeitgeberportal