European Semester

The European debt crisis has shown that it is necessary to make the economies of the EU states more globally competitive and to prevent undesirable economic and fiscal policy developments in the EU member states at an early stage. In response to the crisis, the EU has introduced important new instruments and procedures for closer economic, fiscal and employment policy coordination with the legislative package on fiscal and economic governance ("Sixpack"), the Euro Plus Pact and the Fiscal Treaty. All procedures were brought together under the umbrella of the so-called European Semester and coordinated in terms of timing.

Strengthening Europe's competitiveness
The European Semester is a cycle starting in November each year and covering all elements of reinforced economic policy coordination. These range from ensuring budgetary discipline to macroeconomic surveillance and promoting growth. The European Semester makes an important contribution to ensuring that necessary economic and social policy reforms are actually implemented at Member State level and that growth and employment are strengthened.
Greater coordination of national economic and social policies at EU level is urgently needed to ensure the convergence of European economies towards improved international competitiveness and to be able to compete with emerging economic powers. Macroeconomic undesirable developments such as real estate price bubbles or persistent current account deficits in individual member states have not been corrected consistently enough in the past. However, unresolved structural problems in individual member states can lead to considerable risks for the macroeconomic stability of the eurozone and the EU as a whole. With the help of the procedure for the prevention and correction of macroeconomic imbalances, such undesirable developments in the member states are to be identified and corrected at an early stage in the future.
Prevent EU intervention in collective bargaining autonomy
The massive loss of competitiveness of some Member States due to excessive increases in unit labour costs was part of the cause of the crisis. It is therefore right that the procedure for preventing macroeconomic imbalances also provides for the monitoring of unit labour cost developments in the Member States. Coordination in this area should take into account all factors relating to unit labour costs, including in particular flexibility, productivity, regulatory frameworks and taxes. Under no circumstances should it lead to interference in national wage-setting and the autonomy of the parties to collective agreements. It is the responsibility of the collective bargaining partners to ensure in the Member States that wage setting takes international competitiveness into account.
Social policy scoreboard
In 2017, the European Commission, the Council of the EU and the European Parliament jointly proclaimed the so-called "European Pillar of Social Rights" (ESSR). This is a non-legally binding political declaration of intent that aims to strengthen the social dimension of the EU. It includes 20 principles on equal opportunities and labour market access, fair labour market conditions and social protection and social inclusion. The problem here is that many of the principles fall under the competence of the member states or the social partners and the EU has no competence for them. Therefore, the ESSR must not be used as a legitimising basis for European legislation in the field of social policy, although this has happened repeatedly since then. The European Semester is intended to act as a central monitoring tool in the implementation of the Pillar. In particular, the country reports that the Commission produces for each Member State as part of the Semester have therefore included a so-called social policy scoreboard since 2018. This measures and compares Member States' performance in the employment and social spheres on the basis of 14 indicators. The indicators include, for example, the employment and unemployment rates, the average net income and the rate of people at risk of poverty or social exclusion.
Ensure the involvement of the social partners
As the social policy scoreboard makes clear, reinforced economic policy coordination touches on many areas that fall within the competences of the social partners, first and foremost employment policy. Coordination of these issues therefore requires appropriate and early involvement of the social partners in the European Semester. This requires consultation of the social partners both at European level by the Commission and the Council and at national level by governments. This involvement must take place in good time so that the results can actually be incorporated into the decision-making process. In order to avoid duplication of structures, no new bodies should be created at EU level, but existing social dialogue institutions - in particular the Social Dialogue Committee - should be used. In order for social partners in all Member States to be able to participate effectively in this context, it is crucial that the EU supports appropriate capacity-building measures in those countries where social partner structures have so far been underdeveloped. The European Semester can itself make an important contribution to this and has already increasingly taken this aspect into account in country reports and country-specific recommendations in recent years.
Initiatives of the BDA
  • Drafting of the joint declaration of the European social partners on the involvement of the social partners in the European Semester, anchoring of key demands of the German employers
  • Annual opinions on the Annual Growth Survey, the National Reform Programme and the country-specific recommendations
European Semester strengthens competitiveness
Theprocedural steps of the European Semester:
Every year in the autumn, the European Commission presents the Annual Growth Survey, in which it identifies the financial, economic and employment policy challenges in the EU and recommends priority measures to address them. Based on this report, the European Commission publishes comprehensive country reports in February, which since 2019 have been complemented by separate analyses of Member States' investment needs (Annex D). Member States are invited to take into account the guidelines of the Annual Growth Survey and the analyses of the country reports when preparing their National Reform Programmes (NRPs) and to set out in them the measures planned or implemented to strengthen growth, employment and competitiveness. On the basis of a Commission proposal, the Council of Finance and Economy Ministers (ECOFIN) adopts country-specific recommendations in June, which are finally endorsed by the European Council.
Arbeitgeberportal

Europäisches Semester

Die europäische Schuldenkrise hat gezeigt, dass es notwendig ist, die Wirtschaft der EU-Staaten global wettbewerbsfähiger zu gestalten und wirtschafts- und fiskalpolitische Fehlentwicklungen in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten frühzeitig zu verhindern. Als Reaktion auf die Krise hat die EU mit dem Gesetzgebungspaket zur fiskal- und wirtschaftspolitischen Steuerung („Sixpack“), dem Euro-Plus-Pakt und dem Fiskalvertrag wichtige neue Instrumente und Verfahren zur engeren wirtschafts-, finanz- und beschäftigungspolitischen Koordinierung eingeführt. Alle Verfahren wurden unter dem Dach des sog. Europäischen Semesters zusammengefasst und zeitlich aufeinander abgestimmt.

Europas Wettbewerbsfähigkeit stärken
Das Europäische Semester ist ein im November eines jeden Jahres einsetzender Zyklus, der alle Elemente der verstärkten wirtschaftspolitischen Koordinierung abdeckt. Diese reichen von der Sicherstellung der Haushaltsdisziplin über die makroökonomische Überwachung bis zur Wachstumsförderung. Das Europäische Semester leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu, dass notwendige wirtschafts- und sozialpolitische Reformen auf der Ebene der Mitgliedstaaten tatsächlich durchgeführt und Wachstum und Beschäftigung gestärkt werden.
Die verstärkte Koordinierung nationaler Wirtschafts- und Sozialpolitiken auf EU-Ebene ist dringend notwendig, um die Konvergenz der europäischen Volkswirtschaften hin zu einer verbesserten internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sicherzustellen und im Wettbewerb mit aufstrebenden Wirtschaftsmächten bestehen zu können. Gesamtwirtschaftliche Fehlentwicklungen wie etwa Immobilienpreisblasen oder andauernde Leistungsbilanzdefizite in einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten wurden in der Vergangenheit nicht konsequent genug korrigiert. Ungelöste strukturelle Probleme in einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten können jedoch zu erheblichen Risiken für die makroökonomische Stabilität der Eurozone sowie der EU insgesamt führen. Mithilfe des Verfahrens zur Vermeidung und Korrektur makroökonomischer Ungleichgewichte sollen derartige Fehlentwicklungen in den Mitgliedstaaten in Zukunft frühzeitig identifiziert und korrigiert werden.
Eingriff der EU in Tarifautonomie verhindern
Der massive Verlust an Wettbewerbsfähigkeit einiger Mitgliedstaaten durch zu stark gestiegene Lohnstückkosten war Teilursache der Krise. Es ist daher richtig, dass das Verfahren zur Vermeidung makroökonomischer Ungleichgewichte auch die Beobachtung der Lohnstückkostenentwicklung in den Mitgliedstaaten vorsieht. Die Koordinierung in diesem Bereich sollte alle Faktoren der Lohnstückkosten, insbesondere auch Flexibilität, Produktivität, gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen und Abgaben berücksichtigen. Keinesfalls darf sie zu Eingriffen in die nationale Lohnfindung und die Autonomie der Tarifvertragsparteien führen. Es liegt in der Verantwortung der Tarifpartner, in den Mitgliedstaaten sicherzustellen, dass bei der Lohnfindung die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit berücksichtigt wird.
Sozialpolitisches Scoreboard
Im Jahr 2017 haben die Europäische Kommission, der Rat der EU und das Europäische Parlament gemeinsam die sogenannte „Europäische Säule Sozialer Rechte“ (ESSR) proklamiert. Dabei handelt es sich um eine rechtlich nicht verbindliche, politische Absichtserklärung, die die soziale Dimension der EU stärken soll. Sie umfasst 20 Grundsätze zu den Themen Chancengleichheit und Arbeitsmarktzugang, Faire Arbeitsmarktbedingungen und Sozialschutz und soziale Inklusion. Problematisch ist hierbei, dass viele der Grundsätze in die Zuständigkeit der Mitgliedstaaten oder der Sozialpartner fallen und die EU keine Kompetenz für sie hat. Daher darf die ESSR nicht als Legitimationsgrundlage für europäische Rechtsetzung im sozialpolitischen Bereich herangezogen werden, was seitdem aber wiederholt geschehen ist. Das Europäische Semester soll als zentrales Überwachungsinstrument bei der Umsetzung der Säule fungieren. Insbesondere beinhalten die Länderberichte, die die Kommission im Rahmen des Semesters für jeden Mitgliedstaat erstellt, seit 2018 daher ein sogenanntes sozialpolitisches Scoreboard. Dieses misst und vergleicht die Leistungen der Mitgliedstaaten im Bereich Beschäftigung und Soziales anhand von 14 Indikatoren. Zu den Indikatoren zählen beispielsweise die Beschäftigungs- und die Arbeitslosenquote, das durchschnittliche Nettoeinkommen oder die Quote der von Armut oder sozialer Ausgrenzung bedrohten Personen.
Einbindung der Sozialpartner sicherstellen
Wie das sozialpolitische Scoreboard verdeutlicht, berührt die verstärkte wirtschaftspolitische Koordinierung zahlreiche Bereiche, die in die Kompetenzen der Sozialpartner fallen, allen voran die Beschäftigungspolitik. Bei der Koordinierung dieser Themen ist daher eine angemessene und frühzeitige Einbindung der Sozialpartner in das Europäische Semester notwendig. Dies erfordert die Konsultation der Sozialpartner sowohl auf europäischer Ebene durch Kommission und Rat als auch auf nationaler Ebene durch die Regierungen. Diese Einbindung muss rechtzeitig erfolgen, sodass die Ergebnisse tatsächlich in die Entscheidungsfindung einfließen können. Um Doppelstrukturen zu vermeiden, dürfen auf EU-Ebene keine neuen Gremien geschaffen werden, sondern bestehende Institutionen des Sozialen Dialogs – v. a. der Ausschuss für den Sozialen Dialog – genutzt werden. Damit Sozialpartner in allen Mitgliedstaaten sich in diesem Zusammenhang effektiv einbringen können, ist es von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass die EU entsprechende Maßnahmen des Kapazitätsaufbaus in den Staaten unterstützt, wo Sozialpartnerstrukturen bislang unterentwickelt sind. Das Europäische Semester kann dazu selbst einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten und hat diesen Aspekt in den vergangenen Jahren bereits zunehmend in Länderberichten und länderspezifischen Empfehlungen berücksichtigt.
Initiativen der BDA
  • Erarbeitung der gemeinsamen Erklärung der Europäischen Sozialpartner zur Einbindung der Sozialpartner in das Europäische Semester, Verankerung zentraler Forderungen der deutschen Arbeitgeber
  • Jährliche Stellungnahmen zum Jahreswachstumsbericht, zum Nationalen Reformprogramm und zu den Länderspezifischen Empfehlungen
Europäisches Semester stärkt Wettbewerbsfähigkeit
Die Verfahrensschritte des Europäischen Semesters:
Die Europäische Kommission legt alljährlich im Herbsteinen Jahreswachstumsbericht vor, in dem sie die finanz-, wirtschafts- und beschäftigungspolitischen Herausforderungen in der EU benennt und vorrangige Maßnahmen zu deren Bewältigung empfiehlt. Gestützt auf diesen Bericht veröffentlicht die Europäische Kommission im Februar umfassende Länderberichte, welche seit dem Jahr 2019 durch gesonderte Analysen zu den Investitionsbedarfen der Mitgliedstaaten (Anhang D) ergänzt werden. Die Mitgliedstaaten sind aufgefordert, die Leitlinien des Jahreswachstumsberichts und die Analysen der Länderberichte bei der Ausarbeitung ihrer Nationalen Reformprogramme (NRP) zu berücksichtigen und die geplanten bzw. umgesetzten Maßnahmen zur Stärkung von Wachstum, Beschäftigung und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in diesen darzulegen. Auf der Grundlage eines Vorschlags der Kommission verabschiedet der Rat der Finanz- und Wirtschaftsminister (ECOFIN) im Juni länderspezifische Empfehlungen, die abschließend vom Europäischen Rat gebilligt werden.

Zahlen und Fakten

Europäisches Semester

Quelle: BMF, 2020


Arbeitgeberportal