International social dialogue indispensable for the global economic order of the 21st century


BDA AGENDA 28/21 | Topic of the Week | 09 December 2021

The International Labour Conference (ILC), as the highest organ of the International Labour Organization (ILO), sets the course for the socially acceptable transformation of the world economy.

In the second session of this year's International Labour Conference, governments, employers' and workers' organisations will negotiate on two issues that are currently among the greatest challenges to the global economic order and its transformation towards more climate-friendly technologies: "Inequalities and the world of work" and "Skills and lifelong learning for the future of work".

Inequalities and the world of work - dynamic, inclusive labour markets and productive enterprises create fair living conditions

Inequality is a multi-faceted concept that cannot be reduced to income or wage inequality. In the Inequalities Committee, the Employers therefore advocate for a differentiated analysis that takes into account exogenous factors. Progress in reducing inequality between countries and in reducing extreme poverty must be recognized. Education and employment are the two most important factors. Productivity improvements and ensuring sustainable entrepreneurship are important drivers of inequality reduction. Higher burdens on business or additional regulation should be avoided as they limit employment opportunities. Higher non-wage costs reduce workers' disposable household income. The Employers' Group is committed to an evidence-based approach, whereby strategies that have proven effective can serve as inspiration for other countries and situations. The very different national circumstances must be taken into account, so there can be no single solution at the global level.

Skills and lifelong learning - essential prerequisites for the future of work

The discussion is guided by the important role of education and training in a constantly changing world of work. Adapted qualifications oriented to the requirements of the labour market are indispensable prerequisites for improving the productivity of companies and for successful structural change in the world of work.

In the Qualifications Committee, employers are particularly committed to recognising and strengthening the role of social dialogue and to closely involving the social partners in the governance of qualification systems. The employers' side is opposed to the introduction of a universal entitlement to lifelong learning, especially as neither the design nor the financing are clear. The targeted qualification of employees is fundamentally the task of the companies and employees themselves. A universal entitlement of every individual to lifelong learning must be rejected as not achieving its objectives.

Employers advocate for balanced conclusions that take into account and respect the specific circumstances of the training systems of ILO Member States. Normative approaches to the financing of qualification, such as "training funds", must not be recommended in an undifferentiated manner.

Arbeitgeberportal

Internationaler Sozialer Dialog unentbehrlich für die globale Wirtschaftsordnung des 21. Jahrhunderts


BDA AGENDA 28/21 | Thema der Woche | 09. Dezember 2021

Die Internationale Arbeitskonferenz (IAK) als höchstes Organ der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) stellt die Weichen für die sozialverträgliche Transformation der Weltwirtschaft

 

Im Rahmen der zweiten Session der diesjährigen Internationalen Arbeitskonferenz verhandeln Regierungen, Arbeitgeber- und Arbeitnehmerorganisationen über zwei Themen, die aktuell zu den größten Herausforderungen für die globale Wirtschaftsordnung und ihrer Transformation hin zu mehr klimafreundlichen Technologien zählen: „Ungleichheiten und die Welt der Arbeit“ und „Qualifikationen und Lebenslanges Lernen für die Zukunft der Arbeit“.

Ungleichheiten und die Welt der Arbeit – dynamische, inklusive Arbeitsmärkte und produktive Unternehmen schaffen faire Lebensbedingungen

Ungleichheit ist ein vielschichtiges Konzept, welches nicht auf Einkommens- oder Lohnungleichheit reduziert werden darf. Im Ausschuss „Ungleichheiten“ setzen sich die Arbeitgeber daher für eine differenzierte Analyse unter Berücksichtigung exogener Faktoren ein. Fortschritte beim Rückgang der Ungleichheit zwischen den Ländern und bei der Reduzierung extremer Armut müssen anerkannt werden. Bildung und Beschäftigung sind dabei die zwei wichtigsten Faktoren. Produktivitätsverbesserungen und die Gewährleistung eines nachhaltigen Unternehmertums sind wichtige Triebkräfte für die Reduzierung von Ungleichheiten. Höhere Belastungen für Unternehmen oder zusätzliche Regulierung sind zu vermeiden, da sie Beschäftigungschancen einschränken. Höhere Lohnzusatzkosten senken das verfügbare Haushaltseinkommen der Arbeitnehmer. Die Arbeitgebergruppe setzt auf einen faktenbasierten Ansatz, wonach Strategien, die sich als wirksam erwiesen haben, als Inspiration für andere Länder und Situationen dienen können. Die sehr unterschiedlichen nationalen Gegebenheiten müssen dabei berücksichtigt werden, deshalb kann es auf globaler Ebene keine einheitliche Lösung geben.

Qualifikationen und lebenslanges Lernen – unabdingbare Voraussetzungen für die Zukunft der Arbeit

Die Diskussion wird von der bedeutenden Rolle der Aus- und Weiterbildung in einer sich ständig ändernden Arbeitswelt geleitet. Angepasste und an den Anforderungen des Arbeitsmarkts orientierten Qualifikationen sind unabdingbare Voraussetzungen für die Verbesserung der Produktivität der Unternehmen und einen erfolgreichen Strukturwandel der Arbeitswelt.

Im Ausschuss „Qualifikationen“ setzen sich die Arbeitgeber insbesondere für die Anerkennung und Stärkung der Rolle des sozialen Dialogs und für die enge Einbeziehung der Sozialpartner in die Steuerung der Qualifizierungssysteme ein. Die Arbeitgeberseite spricht sich gegen die Einführung eines universellen Anspruchs auf lebenslanges Lernen aus, zumal weder Ausgestaltung noch Finanzierung klar sind. Die gezielte Qualifizierung von Beschäftigten ist grundsätzlich Aufgabe der Unternehmen und Beschäftigten selbst. Ein universeller Anspruch jedes Individuums auf lebenslanges Lernen ist als nicht zielführend abzulehnen.

Die Arbeitgeber setzen sich für ausgewogene Schlussfolgerungen ein, die die spezifischen Gegebenheiten der Ausbildungssysteme der ILO-Mitgliedstaaten berücksichtigen und respektieren. Normative Ansätze zur Finanzierung von Qualifizierung wie z.B. Ausbildungsfonds“ dürfen nicht undifferenziert empfohlen werden.

Arbeitgeberportal